Skip to content
Sunset on the sea
Flensburger bottling plant
Barley in the palm of a hand
Flensburger Logo on a wall
To this day, the Flensburg brewery has stuck to the characteristic swing top.

HGDF has held a share in the Flensburg brewery since 1994. During this time, the Flens had long been a cult beer in Germany and part of German popular culture (e.g. “Werner” cartoons). For years, however, beer consumption has been going down in Germany, and many beer producers are relying on low promotional prices.

Flensburger boiler
Copper brewing vessels from the 1960s in the brewhouse of the Flensburg brewery - proven brewing tradition with modern brewing technology inside.

Small breweries find it difficult to maintain this pricing policy and therefore have to remain innovative and maintain their brands. Flensburger has always been exemplary when it comes to this. The beer in the swing top bottle is a unique and strong brand. Countless fans in Germany love their Flens – for its taste, for the typical “plopp” of the handle and the Nordic humor in their advertising.

Andreas Dethleffsen

We not only like to drink our Pilsner, but have long since thought the Flensburger brand bigger.

Andreas Dethleffsen
Managing Director HGDF
Andreas Tembrockhaus

The cooperation with the holding company is characterized by a great deal of trust.

Andreas Tembrockhaus
Managing Director Flensburger
Hans Peter Heyen

As the managing director of a subsidiary, you have a lot of entrepreneurial freedom. This is both motivation and a guarantee for success.

Hans-Peter Heyen
Managing Director Flensburger

Another way to compensate for the declining thirst for beer in Germany is through exports. People abroad also enjoy drinking the beer from the fjord. We export our Flens all the way to China – and there, too, people enjoy our fresh North German “plopp”.

Responsible use of resources has always been lived at the family brewery from Flensburg. Ingredients such as barley, hops, and water have to meet high quality standards and demand an intact nature – today and in the future. Regular investments in new plant technology and processes are therefore essential for sustainable value creation. The Flensburg brewery was awarded the Schleswig-Holstein Economy Environment Prize in 1991, 1999, and 2018.

Further investments

  • Troeger

    In the almost three decades since it was founded, Troeger has built a reputation as a quality service provider for industrial floors.
    Floor work
  • Queisser
    Pharma

    Our subsidiary with strong brands like Doppelherz and Protefix delivers to customers in more than 60 countries worldwide.
    Employees in the laboratory

Zum Inhalt springen
Sonnenuntergang am Meer
Flensburger Abfüllanlage
Gerste in Handfläche
Flensburger Logo an Wand
Bis heute hält die Flensburger Brauerei am charakteristischen Bügelverschluss fest.

HGDF ist seit 1994 an der Flensburger Brauerei beteiligt. In dieser Zeit war das Flens in Deutschland längst ein Kultbier und Teil der deutschen Populärkultur (z. B. Werner Comics). Seit Jahren geht allerdings in Deutschland der Bierkonsum zurück und viele Bierproduzenten setzen auf niedrige Aktionspreise.

Flensburger Kessel
Kupfer-Sudgefäße aus den 60er Jahren im Sudhaus der Flensburger Brauerei – bewährte Brautradition mit moderner Brautechnik im Inneren.

Kleine Brauereien können diese Preispolitik schwer durchhalten und müssen daher innovativ bleiben und ihre Marken pflegen. Flensburger macht das seit jeher vorbildlich. Das Bier in der Bügelflasche ist eine einzigartige und starke Marke. Zahllose Fans in Deutschland lieben ihr Flens – für seinen Geschmack, für das typische plop’ des Bügels und den nordischen Humor in der Werbung.

Andreas Dethleffsen

Wir trinken nicht nur gern unser Pils, sondern denken die Marke Flensburger auch längst größer.

Andreas Dethleffsen
Geschäftsführer HGDF
Andreas Tembrockhaus

Die Zusammenarbeit mit der Holding ist geprägt von sehr großem Vertrauen.

Andreas Tembrockhaus
Geschäftsführer Flensburger
Hans Peter Heyen

Als Geschäftsführer eines Tochterunternehmens wird einem großer unter­nehmerischer Freiraum gewährt. Dies ist Motivation und Erfolgsgarant zugleich.

Hans-Peter Heyen
Geschäftsführer Flensburger

Ein anderer Weg, den sinkenden Bierdurst der Deutschen zu kompensieren, ist der Export. Auch im Ausland trinkt man gern das Bier von der Förde. Bis nach China exportieren wir unser Flens und auch dort erfreuen sich die Menschen an unserem norddeutsch-frischen plop’.

Verantwortungsvoller Umgang mit Ressourcen wird in der Familienbrauerei aus Flensburg seit jeher gelebt. Zutaten wie Gerste, Hopfen und Wasser müssen hier hohe Qualitätsstandards erfüllen und verlangen nach einer intakten Natur – heute und in Zukunft. Regelmäßige Investitionen in neue Anlagentechnik und Verfahren sind daher essentiell für eine nachhaltige Wertschöpfung. Die Flensburger Brauerei wurde 1991, 1999 und 2018 mit dem Umweltpreis der schleswig-holsteinischen Wirtschaft ausgezeichnet.

Weitere Beteiligungen

  • Troeger

    In den knapp drei Jahrzehnten seit Gründung hat Troeger sich einen Ruf als Qualitätsdienstleister für Industrieböden erarbeitet.
    Bodenarbeiten
  • Queisser
    Pharma

    Unsere Tochter mit starken Marken wie Doppelherz und Protefix liefert an Kunden in mehr als 60 Ländern weltweit.
    Mitarbeiterinnen im Labor